Monday Evening

As almost every day around 7 P.M. I feel like having a coffee out of my favourite cup with the cracked handle, made with my grandmothers old stoneware coffee filter.

DSCF2542small

Life is a bit hurried right now, so I did not manage to finish the translation of the German Grammar Term List I promised – nor did I assemble more learning material to share (at least not in a decent form).

What I did finish though – beside correction as well as teaching work – is a whole bunch of reading pleasure (incredible autobiographical writing by Paul Auster (Winter Journal; Report from the Interior); fiction by Kyoichi Katayama 片山 恭一 (Das Gewicht des Glücks (Sekai no Chūshin de, Ai o Sakebu 世界の中心で、愛をさけぶ), Kawakami Hiromi 川上 弘美 (Der Himmel ist blau, die Erde ist weiß (Sensei no kaban センセイの鞄) 2000), Gabriel García Márquez (One Hundred Years of Solitude; Of Love and Other Demons); nonfiction: Galbraith & Karlin on Idol and Celebrity in Japanese Media Culture; Jared Diamond‘s wonderful indebth Guns, Germs, and Steel; Erich Arendt’s Tropenland Kolumbien; poetry by Vicente Aleixandre). I should do a write-up on all of these – but I probably will not anytime soon. While the first view are “classics” I may have read earlier (or not, is there ever a “right” time for a book? yes, exactly at the moment you read it), the last two are lesser known but recommended nevertheless.

Leave a Reply

